Renata Marcinkutė Lesieur

Sound recordings
Sound recordings

Renata Marcinkutė Lesieur completed her studies at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre specialising in the piano and organ. She undertook further studies in performance at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg in Prof. Heribert Metzger’s class from 1992 to 1993 and attended numerous massterclasses with renowned European professors Jean Boyer, Zsigmond Szathmary, Jan Laukvik, Ludger Lohmann, Guy Bovet, Johannes Geffert, Margareth Phillips to name but a few.

She became an International Organ Players’ competition laureate in Kiev, later emerging as a laureate from the Floor Peeters masterclass in Mechelen, Belgium, she was similarly successful – became a laureate - at the International Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis Pianists and Organ Players Competition in Vilnius.

Renata Marcinkutė Lesieur is a frequent concert performer both as a soloist and with various soloists and ensembles and receives many invitations to participate in organ music festivals. She has toured throughout the Baltic States, Poland, Austria, Germany, Italy, France, Norway, England, Belgium, Finland, Russia, United States, New York, Mexico and others. She is regularly invited to perform at organ inauguration concerts and opening events in Lithuania and further abroad, jury member of the International Competitions.
She very often plays as a soloist with Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra, with the best choirs of Lithuania and Europe. She has played in different festivals with world famous cellists David Geringas, Ivan Monighetti, marimba player from USA Linda Maxey and many other famous musicians. She made numerous recordings in Lithuanian Radio and TV, in September 2009 for the occasion of “Vilnius - Cultural Capital of Lithuania 2009” opened Euroradio Music Week playing Symphony-Concerto for Organ and Orchestra.

Renata Marcinkutė Lesieur has received invitations to lecture at other higher education institutions in Europe giving her the opportunity to lead organ masterclasses at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg, Austria and Poznan Academy of Music, Poland.
The performer is also the Vice-president of the Religious Music Centre in Vilnius, which presents over 60 concerts annually, the artistic director of the “Christopher Summer Festival” Sacred Music Hours programme at St. Casimir’s Church and a head-master in the Organ and harpsichord department of the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre.

Lithuanian Composers

Vidmantas Bartulis

The Vision of 17 July 1750 chorale and toccata

The Moonlight

Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis

Fugue in C-sharp minor, VL 86

Fugue-choral, VL 227, arranged by L.Digrys

Kyrie eleison, fugue, VL 19, arranged by L.Digrys

Juozas Gruodis


Bronius Kutavičius

Ad patres, sonata after the paintings Funeral Symphony of M.K.Čiurlionis, arranged by J.Landsbergytė

Vladas Švedas

Canti e lamenti, sonata

Foreign Composers

Johann Sebastian Bach

Fantasias and Fugues: BWV 537, 542, 561

Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C major, BWV 564

Toccatas and Fugues: BWV 540, 565

Preludes and Fugues: BWV 552, 566

O Gott, du frommer Gott , BWV 767

Sonatas: No.1 in E-flat major, BWV 525, No.3 in D minor, BWV 527

Johannes Brahms

Herzlich tut mich verlangen, Chorale Preludes op. posth. 122

Prelude and Fugue in G minor, WoO 10

Nicolaus Bruhns

Prelude in E minor

Dieterich Buxtehude

 Preludes: BuxWV 146, 149

Louis-Nicolas Clérambault

Suite du deuxieme ton

François Couperin

Messe solennelle

Petr Eben

Hommage a Henry Purcell

Hommage a Dietrich Buxtehude

Invocations for organ and trombone

Nedelni hudba / Sunday Music

Krajiny patmoské / Landscapes of Patmos for organ and percussion

Four Biblical Dances

Girolamo Frescobaldi


Alexandre Guilmant

Sonata No.3 in C minor, op.56

George Frideric Händel

Organ concertos, op.4

Paul Hindemith

Sonata No.1 (1937)

Vincent Lübeck

Preludes and Fugues

Olivier Messiaen


Le Banquet céleste


La Nativité du Seigneur

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Fantasia in F minor, K. 608

Andante in F major, K. 616

Georg Muffat

 Toccatas from Apparatus musico-organisticus

Flor Peeters

Lied Symphonie, op.66

Concert Piece, op.52a

Max Reger

Sonata No.2 in D minor

Introduction and Passacaglia in D minor

Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck

Fantasia chromatica

Concert at the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, September 26, 2009


Orchestral Season's Opening Concert


Thousand Doors to the World (2009, premiere)


Symphony-Concerto for bass guitar, organ and orchestra (1977)


Concerto for cello and orchestra No. 1 in A minor


l’Apprenti Sorcier



DAVID GERINGAS (cello, Germany)


with the participation of EUGENIJUS MIKŠYS (bass guitar)


Concert To celebrate the 70th anniversary of the Petr Eben, 1999 01 31

P.Eben Landscapes of Patmos for percussion and organ

1. Landscape with Eagle

2. Landscape with the Eldest

3. Landscape with Temple

4. Landscape with Rainbow

5. Landscape with Horses

Zenonas Bagavičius (percussion)

Concert To celebrate the 70th anniversary of the Petr Eben, 1999 01 03

P.Eben „Four Biblical Dances”

1. The Dance or David Before the Ark of the Covenant

2. The Dance of the Schulamite

3. The Dance of Jephtha's Daughter

4. The Wedding in Cana

"In the organist's interpretations, the design is multifaceted. She portrays in detail the conception of the composer, the mood and emotion. She has a tendency to think in large proportions, incorporating an expression of painterly sound strokes. There is a masterly ability and sensitive control of the wider dynamics and agogic scale, combined with a subtle phrasing and musical engraving. The skill of an artistic polyphony intertwines into a harmonious whole that maintains itself throughout."

Vladas Zalatoris

"Renata Marcinkutė Lesieur is an active representative of the younger generation of Lithuanian organists. Her continuing studies, her participation in the master courses, and her work at the Lithuanian Academy of Music enrich and stimulate her musical expertise. Her inborn talent and musicianship harmoniously influence the aesthetics of her interpretations. It is characteristic for R.Marcinkutė Lesieur to engage in deep study of the musical content, and to express it through the vivid palette of timbres, articulation, and nuances of tempos. A solution or creative discovery never freezes into finality, but is the backbone for a new, different conception. Ms. Marcinkutė Lesieur is inspired by older and contemporary music, but she pays particular attention to the latter. Many Lithuanian composers prefer her to perform the premières of their works. Her interpretations of the works by Czech composer Petr Eben (Four Biblical Dances, Landscapes of Patmos) are fabulous and reveal her immense talent."

Gediminas Kviklys