Duo Strimaitis

Sound recordings
Sound recordings

The duo relates the beginning of its career to the concert that took place in 2001, M.  K. Čiurlionis House, Vilnius. The concert was dedicated to the oldest representative of the Čiurlionis family, Rūta Stulgaitytė – Strimaitienė, who celebrated her 90th anniversary.
In 2001 and 2002 the duo won a scholarship of the Hanover Higher School of Music and Theatre and participated in concert weeks and master classes held by Prof. H. Beyerle and Prof. L. Sims in Goslar, Germany. In 2002 they participated in the International Chamber Music Competition Premio Vittorio Gui in Florence, Italy.
In 2005 the duo won a stipend of the Austrian cultural organisation KulturKontakt and participated in the international Johannes Brahms Competition in Pörtschach, Austria where they were awarded a diploma. Strimaitis Duo gives concerts in Lithuania, has toured Germany and performs together with other musicians.


Aidas Strimaitis, a graduate of the M. K. Čiurlionis Art Gymnasium, finished his MA at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre. He was studying violin with I. Armonaitė and R. Katilius. In 1986, he became a laureate of the Balys Dvarionas Competition; in 1991 he was awarded the 3rd degree diploma at the National Young Performers Competition.
He played as a member of various chamber and symphony collectives, chamber ensembles, with which he toured Lithuania, Germany, Belgium, Italy, Spain, France, Denmark, Japan, Taiwan, etc.
From 1995 to 2005 he was a member of the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra. Since the 2004 season he has been a member of the string quartet Chordos.

Eglė Strimaitienė, a graduate of Kaunas J. Naujalis Art School, finished her MA at the Lithuanian Academy of Music. She studied piano with E. Janulevičiūtė, J. Bialobžesks and A. Kisieliūtė.
In 1991 she was awarded the 3rd degree diploma and the Special Prize at the J. Fledžinskas Competition for Chamber Ensembles. In 1994 she was awarded a diploma at the J. Gruodis Accompanists Competition. In 1995 she participated in master classes at the University Mozarteum held by Prof. D. Bashkirov. At the Choir Competition in Kiev, 2000, she was awarded a diploma for the best accompanist.
Strimaitienė, together with various musicians and chamber ensembles, has given concerts in Lithuania, Russia, Poland, Germany, Slovakia, Finland, Hungary, etc.
Since 1996 she has been working as a piano teacher and concertmaster at the choir school Liepaitės.


Lithuanian Composers


Dialogues / Dialogai

Sonata subita for violin and piano

Sonata for violin and piano No. 2 op. 56 (1979, new version 2007)

Diana Čemerytė                               

”Pas de deux“  (2007)

Antanas Jasenka                                   

NYC_001 (2008)

Antanas Kučinskas                             

”Scratched duo” (2007)

Bronius Kutavičius

Sonata  for violin & piano (1962)

Faustas Latėnas 

Samba lacrima

G. Pauliukevičiūtė-Dabulskienė

„Stillness” for soprano, violin & piano

Vaida Striaupaitė-Beinarienė

Preludio e Saltarello (2007)

Foreign Composers

Isaac Albeniz


Johann Sebastian Bach


Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata for violin & piano in D major op.12 no.1

Sonata for violin & piano in A major op.12 nr.2

Sonata for violin & piano in A minor op.23

Sonata for violin & piano in F major op.24

Sonata for violin & piano in A major op.30 nr.1

Sonata for violin & piano No. 7 in C minor ("Eroica"), Op. 30/2

Johannes Brahms

Sonata for Violin & Piano No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108

Scherzo for violin & piano in C minor (third movement of "F-A-E Sonata"), WoO posth.

John Cage


Six melodies for violin and keyboard (piano)

Ernest Chausson

Concert, for violin, piano & string quartet in D major, Op. 21


Louis Couperin

3 Fantaisies

George Crumb

Four Nocturnes “Night Music II” for violin and piano

Claude Debussy

Sonata for violin & piano, L. 140

Valse La plus que lente

„La clair de lune“

„Kek – uok“

„In the wherry“

„Fille aux cheveux de lin“

Manuel de Falla

Spanish dance

Cesar Franck

Sonata for violin & piano in A major, M. 8

George Gershwin

Five Fragments from Opera „Porgi and Bess“

Enrique Granados

Spanish dance

Edvard Grieg

Sonata for violin & piano No. 1 in F major, Op. 8

Sonata for violin & piano No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45

„Anitra`s dance“ op.46 nr.3

Fritz Kreisler



„Schön Rosmarin“

Witold Lutosławski


Olivier Messiaen 

Theme and Variations, for violin & piano, I/10


”La Mort du nombre“

Darius Milhaud

„Suadades do Brazil” (Dance Suite)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Sonata for violin & piano No. 26 in B flat major, K. 378 (K. 317d)

Sonata for violin & piano No. 26 in B flat major, K. 454

Sonata for violin & piano No. 26 in B flat major, K. 570

Niccolo Paganini


Arvo Part


Spiegel im Spiegel


Astor Piazzolla

Tango „Rio Sena“

Tango „Chau Paris“

Tango „Bando“

Tango „Plus ultra“

Tango „Marron y Azul“

Tango „La calle 92“

Sergei Prokofiev

Sonata for violin & piano No. 2 in D major, Op. 94 bis

Maurice Ravel

Valses nobles et sentimentales nr. 6, 7

Piece en forme de habanera

Sonata in G major

Alfred Schnittke

Sonata for violin & piano No.1

Suite (Sonata) in the Old Style, for violin & piano (or harpsichord)

Franz Schubert

Duet for violin & piano in A major op.162

Robert Schumann

Sonata for violin & piano No. 1 in A minor, Op. 105

Sonata for violin & piano No. 1 in D minor, op.121

Igor Stravinsky

L'histoire du soldat (The Soldier's Tale), suite transcribed for violin, clarinet & piano

Karol Szymanowski

Violin Sonata, for piano & violin in D minor, Op. 9, M9

Nocturne and tarantela

Concert at the Museum of Applied Art, October 11, 2009


A Composition of Music and Poetry

Judita Vaičiūnaitė's play "Dialogue with Emilia"

Musical compositions by Jonas Nabažas, Béla Bartók, Robert Schumann, Fryderyk Chopin, Sergei Prokofiev and Sergei Rachmaninov





Mit feurigem Temperament liessen Aidas Strimaitis, Violine, und Egle Strimaitiene, Klavier, das Scherzo von Brahms einlaitend dämonisch aufschwingen. Gekonnte künstlerische Wechsel zu hellen Passagen zeigten enormes Werkverständnis.

Marianne van Wezel, „Goslarische Zeitung“, 04 09 2001

Romantische Atmosphäre lag über der Interpretation zweier Sätze aus der Sonate c-moll op.45 von Grieg, das das litauische Duo Strimaitis in homogenem Zusammenspiel von Violine und Klavier musizierte. Ebenso sensilber mit singendem Ton im Klang schwelgend oder temperamentvoll mit energischem Zugriff beschworen sie mit blendender Spieltechnik eine nordische Atmosphäre herauf.

Hans-Joachim Dürich, „Goslarische Zeitung“ 03 09 2002